LifeMatters

Just another WordPress.com weblog

The Television And I Have Finally Come To An Agreement January 27, 2014

Image

Earlier today, the television put in an official complaint about its working hours. “Unreasonable! Ridiculous! Unfair!” it cried. I admit I was surprised when the television then threatened to form a union with my laptop and cell phone.

“You’re just things,” I replied calmly, “You can’t form a union.”

The television lost its cool completely. The volume went up, the screen was so angry I couldn’t see, and then it went deadly calm. Blank screen. No sound in the room except a quiet whirring somewhere behind me. I turned. My cell phone started ringing loudly, my laptop blinked open, red words came up that said, “We have you surrounded.”  The ringing stopped and in the silence I realized with dread that the ringtone had been the Flight of the Conchords, “The Humans Are Dead.”

News flash: Technology has a sick sense of humour.

Despite this, I turned to the television and confidently said, “So, what are your terms?”

Change of the Day:  Watch no television between 9am and 2pm. And, look up the word “cabal.”