LifeMatters

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Forever and Ever…Aw, Crap January 31, 2014

Image

 

One of my favourite wedding songs is Randy Travis’s, “Forever and Ever, Amen.” But when the marriage doesn’t work out, it’s more like “Forever and Ever…Aw, Crap.” Sorry, I’m getting ahead of myself. Let’s join the story where the fairytale begins…

 

I was married on January 31, 1986. Coincidentally, so was my husband.

 

I wore peach chiffon and the minister’s name was Swayze. (Just the name could make a girl swoozy in the 80’s.) We lit a wedding candle together. My husband and I, not swoozy Swayze. Then we invited our 16 guests to join us down the street at a Viennese cafe for lunch. Highlight of the meal? Our wedding cake. One tier. Round. It was not fruit cake. It was made of chocolate cream. Boo-ya!

 

You likely can’t tell from the story’s start that we went to Sudbury, Ontario for our honeymoon. Yup, Sudbury in January. Pleeease, try not to be jealous. I’m sure your ten-day honeymoon in Bali was lovely, too, even if you weren’t ankle deep in snow and ice in four-inch heels.

 

I don’t want to say that the Sudbury honeymoon was entirely to blame but 18 years later we separated. In the ten years since, neither of us has found the “one” after the one that was. I’ve had a couple of relationships, but I haven’t been interested in finding someone for a long time. I feel a little lazy in that department. You have to put effort into meeting new people. Why can’t someone just walk into my life and be the right person?

 

What’s that you say? I have to leave the house? Jeeez…why does love have to be so complicated?

 

Change of the Day: Stop being lazy. Show up where humans gather socially. After all, girl, peach chiffon is fashionable again.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment